Book Review | Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Title: Dark Metropolis

Author: Jaclyn Dolamore

Series: Dark Metropolis #1

Age: Young Adult

Genres: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal

Publication Date: June 17, 2014

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Source: Hardcover

Purchase: Hardcover | Paperback | Kindle 

Synopsis: 
Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules. 
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

My Rating: 

Quote(s) I Like:
"Money is nice, but it isn't everything. It isn't family." - Freddy

My Thoughts:
There isn't much for me to say because I just didn't click with the story whatsoever. However, the characters were all so phenomenal to me. I loved Thea and how trouble seemed to find her. She had to deal with a lot of struggles due to her parents situations and she handled them pretty well. Freddy was a sweet guy that was raised to believe lies of the people he trusted. Nan didn't seem strange, but learning about what she was blew my mind. Gerick and Rory were some assholes!

I loved the romance that brewed between Thea and Freddy. Their interactions and banter made me laugh a lot. I loved lesbian romance between Sigi and Nan -- that was unexpected but sweet.

For me, the story's plot just wasn't developed enough, felt rushed and just didn't vibe with me so well. It's a good historical fiction mixed with dystopian and paranormal aspects to it. Enjoyable read.

Have you read this book?

Comments